Jazz Night at Hayahay

Sebastian: “What do you mean you don’t like jazz?”

Mia: “It just means that when I listen to it, I don’t like it.”

The award-winning movie La La Land faced many criticisms, but these did not hinder me to love the film. Yes, I wasn’t a fan of jazz, but this movie made me to.

But I bet watching the jazz-themed film is way easier especially if few of your favorite actors were on the lead. Fortunately, I have proven this wrong after I attended my first real jazz concert held at a local restobar here in Dumaguete City.

The musicians came from different parts of the country but played for the same purpose – jazz. I would say it was one of the best concerts I’ve been to. Aside from the fact that entrance came free, seeing their passion for music motivated me to pursue what I want and helped me understood their cause.

The ‘jam’ concert (because everyone was welcomed to join) called “Jazz Night at Hayahay” was performed by Masterclass workshop gurus, namely, Michael Guevarra (Saxophone), Lester Sorilla (Trumpet), Roydon Lumakad (Keys), Mark Astrong (Bass), Michael Alba (Drums), with the special participation of Mike Guevarra’s class.

The event was held at Hayahay Treehouse Bar and Viewdeck in Dumaguete City last April 29, 2017.

DSCF5533IMG_4922IMG_4926

X

Leave a Reply

